Marcelo Bielsa named LMA Championship Manager of the Year

Marcelo Bielsa named LMA Championship Manager of the Year

Voted for by the full League Managers Association membership.

After a season in which he led his side to promotion and the title, Leeds United head coach Marcelo Bielsa was this evening named the LMA's Championship Manager of the Year.

Hosted live on Sky Sports News, the award was voted by the full League Managers Association membership, with Marcelo receiving the award alongside Jurgen Klopp (Premier League), Mark Robins (League One), David Artell (League Two) and Emma Hayes MBE (Women's Super League)

On receiving his award, Marcelo shared his delight in winning the award, the importance he places on it and thanked his players for all their hard work this season to clinch the title.

"I'd like to say thank you for this award. It's of special importance to me because the votes were cast by the coaches in the league that Leeds have won.

"The fact that my colleagues have decided to single out my contribution means so much to me. Awards are usually recognition of success achieved by a particular team and in this case, it's recognition of the title that Leeds have won.

"I know perfectly well how much help I've received along the path towards this achievement.

"I'd like to thank the club and the authorities who hired me, and gave me the chance to work in English football, the fans for their support, contribution and the love that they've shown towards me, and every member of staff who has worked alongside the players this year.

"In this regard, there are many unnamed people who perform key roles in the work that we do with the players on a daily basis.

"Finally, the biggest thank you is to the players themselves, because they're the ones doing the most difficult job in football, which is playing, competing and, in this case, clinching success.

"Coaches are always the product of the players that we get to coach and I'd like to stress how grateful I am to them.

"I'd also like to thank the body in charge of the awards.

"Thank you very much, everyone."